MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS OF CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION ASSEMBLED JULY 4th, 1889

Convention met in Capitol Building, Olympia July 4th, 1889, at 4 p.m. and was called to order by O. C. White, Secretary, who read the names of members elected. The following persons responded as their names were called.

R. F. Sturdevant Lewis Neace D. J. Crowley B. L. Sharpstein N. G. Blalock R. O. Dunbar J. T. Eshelman W. F. Prosser Louis Sohns A. A. Lindsley G. H. Stevenson J. A. Burk O. A. Bowen Jesse Van Name Henry Winsor John McReavey A. J. West Allen Weir H. C. Willison James Power Thomas Hayton J. J. Weisenburger E. Eldridge J. C. Kellogg	S. A. Dickey R. Jeffs T. T. Minor T. P. Dyer D. E. Durie John R. Kinnear John P. Hoyt M. J. McElroy M. Morgans Geo. W. Tibbetts W. L. Newton T. L. Stiles P. C. Sullivan Gwin Hicks H. M. Lillis C. T. Fay R. S. More Robert Jamieson John F. Gowey T. M. Reed F. Henry O. H. Joy S. H. Berry
	Lewis Neace D. J. Crowley B. L. Sharpstein N. G. Blalock R. O. Dunbar J. T. Eshelman W. F. Prosser Louis Sohns A. A. Lindsley G. H. Stevenson J. A. Burk O. A. Bowen Jesse Van Name Henry Winsor John McReavey A. J. West Allen Weir H. C. Willison James Power Thomas Hayton J. J. Weisenburger E. Eldridge

Those not present were Geo. H. Jones, H. Clothier, A. Schooley and J. J. Travis.

A majority being present, Secretary White declared the Convention in session for business. John P. Hoyt offered the following, which was unanimously adopted. "Resolved. That J. Z. Moore of Spokane County be and he is hereby elected as temporary chairman of this Convention." Secretary White appointed J. P. Hoyt and Geo. Turner to conduct the temporary Chairman to the chair. On assuming the duties of presiding officer, Mr. Moore delivered a brief, appropriate address. R. O. Dunbar nominated Allen Weir for temporary Secretary. Carried.

The following telegrams were read: "Sioux Falls, Dakota. July 4th, 1889. South Dakota Constitutional Convention sends greetings to Washington Constitutional Convention. A. J. Edgerton, president." "Bismarck, Dakota. July 4th, 1889. To Constitutional Convention: The Constitutional Convention of North Dakota sends greetings and bids you Godspeed in your advance movement toward statehood and free American citizenship. May the four new stars about to be added to the national flag not lose in brilliancy through lack of care in laying the foundations of the states to be. Let Washington bring fruits and flowers, Montana its precious metals to add to the beauty and wealth of our nation, while the Dakotas will bring wheat and corn to feed the people of the world. F. B. Fancher, president." J. F. Gowey moved that appropriate responses be sent to these telegrams. Carried. For telegrams see page 18.

J. R. Kinnear moved that Convention elect permanent officers by ballot upon convening tomorrow. Carried. T. M. Reed moved that a committee of five on credentials be appointed to report on assembling of the Convention tomorrow. Carried.

T. P. Dyer moved the appointment of a committee of three to apportion seats to members. Mr. Gowey moved an amendment granting E. Eldridge and Francis Henry (members of Washington's former Constitutional Convention of 1878) the privilege of selecting their own seats. Amendment accepted. F. Henry objected to motion on the ground that the body was not yet permanently organized; R. O. Dunbar joined in objection. Point of order sustained by the chair.

Geo. Turner moved to reconsider the vote by which Convention decided to elect officers by ballot. Carried. J. R. Kinnear offered a substitute providing for the election of officers by rollcall on assembly tomorrow. F. Henry and C. H. Warner objected to the substitute on the ground that the Convention was not yet permanently organized. Point of order overruled by the chair. Appeal taken by Mr. Henry. Appeal sustained.

J. F. Gowey moved to adjourn till 10 a.m. tomorrow. D. Buchanan moved to amend by substituting 9 a.m. Amendment defeated.

Mr. Buchanan called for the appointment of the Committee on Credentials. Whereupon the chair appointed T. M. Reed, T. C. Griffitts, A. Mires, S. H. Manly and C. H. Warner.

The motion to adjourn till 10 a.m. tomorrow carried.

ALLEN WEIR Temporary Secretary

Second Day

Capitol Building, July 5th, 1889. The Convention met at 10 a.m. Temporary Chairman J. Z. Moore in the chair. All the members of the Convention answered to their names, except A. Schooley, H. Clothier, George H. Jones and Francis Henry; the latter afterwards reported present. On motion the minutes were read and amended and adopted as amended. A recess was then taken to enable the Committee on Credentials to report. The Convention was again called to order at 10:35 a.m. T. M. Reed, Chairman of the Committee on Credentials, proceeded to read the report as follows:

To the Chairman of the Constitutional) Convention of Washington Territory

Your Committee on Credentials respectfully reports that it has performed the duty assigned it and find the following named gentlemen present and duly qualified and entitled to membership in this Convention from Districts designated as follows:

From the First District the only credentials presented to your committee for the third member from such district is a certificate of the Auditor of Stevens County, being the senior county of such district, by W. W. Waltman showing him to have received the highest number of votes in said district and entitled to membership in this Convention. No other credentials whatever were