United States Constitutional Convention 1787

Grand Convention at Philadelphia, May to September, 1787, Quill Project 2016 Edition.

Georgia Delegation

This is one of the 12 delegations in the convention, accounting for 4 of 55 people who took part.

Members (4):

Name Visualize Details Delegations
Abraham Baldwin Visualize (22 November 1754 – 4 March 1807) Congregationalist minister, army chaplain during the Revolutionary War, and lawyer. He was President of the University of Georgia, a Confederation Congressman, and delegate to the Constitutional Convention. He was elected to the US House of Representatives and then the Senate, where he became President pro tempore. Georgia Delegation (This negotiation)
William Few Visualize (8 June 1748 – 16 July 1828) Farmer, lawyer, banker, surveyor, and militia officer during the Revolutionary War. From a small farming family he rose to wealth and prominence. He served in the Georgia General Assembly and Congress, before joining the Constitutional Convention. He was US Senator for Georgia before moving to New York to become president of several banks and then a legislator within the New York State Assembly. Georgia Delegation (This negotiation)
William Houstoun Visualize (c.1755 – 17 March 17 1813) Planter, slave owner and lawyer. He attended the Congress of the Confederation representing Georgia and then the Constitutional Convention. Georgia Delegation (This negotiation)
William Pierce Visualize (c.1740 – 10 December 1789) Merchant, planter and artillery officer in the Continental Army. During the Revolutionary War he rose to the position of aide-de-camp to Nathanael Greene. After the war he joined the Georgia state legislature and the Confederation Congress. Having joined the Constitutional Convention, he left early to attend to his rapidly declining business and to fight a duel. The duel, with the partner of a firm to whom he owed money, did not take place thanks to the intervention of Alexander Hamilton. He later ran, unsuccessfully, for both the Georgia legislature and governorship. Georgia Delegation (This negotiation)