United States Constitutional Convention 1787 (2016 Edition)

Grand Convention at Philadelphia, May to September, 1787, Quill Project 2016 Edition.

South Carolina Delegation

This is one of the 12 delegations in the convention, accounting for 4 of 55 people who took part.

Members (4):

Name Visualize Details Delegations
Pierce Butler Visualize (11 July 1744 – 15 February 1822) One of the Founding Fathers of the U.S., planter, and officer in the Revolutionary War. He served as a a delegate to the 1787 Constitutional Convention and a member of the U.S Senate. Committed to protecting the rights of states and slavery, Butler’s extensive holdings included approximately one-thousand slaves. South Carolina Delegation (This negotiation)
Charles Pinckney Visualize (26 October 1757 – 29 October 1824) Planter, slaveholder, lawyer, legislator, pamphleteer and diplomat. A junior officer in the militia during the Revolutionary War, he was also a member of the South Carolina legislature. He was a delegate to the Constitutional Convention, where he submitted his own plan for consideration. He was later a US Congressman for both houses, Governor of South Carolina, and an Ambassador to Spain. South Carolina Delegation (This negotiation)
Charles Cotesworth Pinckney Visualize (14 February 1745 – 16 August 1825) Lawyer, planter, slave owner and army officer. At the outbreak of the Revolutionary War he joined the Continental Army and rose to the rank of Major General. Afterwards he returned to the law and the South Carolina legislature. After attending the Constitutional Convention he became US Ambassador to France and played a prominent role in the XYZ Affair. He twice stood unsuccessfully for election as President, against Jefferson and then Madison. He also stood unsuccessfully for Vice President. South Carolina Delegation (This negotiation)
John Rutledge Visualize (17 September 1739 – 23 July 1800) Lawyer, planter, slave owner, and legislator. Having been a principal figure in the Stamp Act Congress and the Continental Congress, he was elected President and then Governor of South Carolina throughout the Revolutionary War. He was a delegate to the Constitutional Convention, where he chaired the Committee of Detail. He later joined the US Supreme Court but left after a short time. He sought to return as Chief Justice, appointed by Washington, but his criticism of the Jay Treaty meant Congress refused to confirm his nomination. South Carolina Delegation (This negotiation)